Fantasy Indycar Picks: Barber

Before I get to the Barber picks, I would like to review the rules for a hectic Month of May:

  • Picks for the Angie's List Grand Prix of Indianapolis are due before first practice on Thursday, May 7th. The race takes place on Saturday, May 9th.
  • Closely after that, picks for the 99th Indianapolis 500 are due Monday, May 11th before the first practice takes place. The race takes place Sunday, May 24th.
  • Adhering to past traditions, the Indianapolis 500 have two special features that other Fantasy Indycar rounds don't have: 1) Along with your five picks, participants will submit a 6th separate pick as to who you think will win the pole. This sixth pick will not count towards your cumulative picks, and it can be someone you've selected in your five picks for the race or anyone else. If you correctly guess the pole-sitter, you earn 25 bonus points. It will not count against you if you guess incorrectly. 2) There will also be a 25 point bonus that will involve posting a picture on Twitter. This is voluntary, so it's not required. It's just meant to be social and getting in the spirit of Fantasy Indycar! Requirements for the bonus are TBA.
  • There is the potential for bumping this year. If you select someone who gets bumped, then, well, too bad. Also, the bonus points (through the pole and optional picture) plus the points earned by your drivers in qualifying will be counted as a separate round. The points your driver earns in the race will be separate.
  • The qualifying and bonuses will be scored in a separate category from the points you get for the race at Indianapolis. Whatever your driver gets on Pole Day + if you get guess the polesitter correctly + optional pic bonus = your total points for Qualifying and Bonus (Q+B)
  • Announcement: The Fantasy Indycar waiting list for 2016 opens on June 1st! Anyone not in Fantasy Indycar who wants a chance to get into the league next season just has to contact me on Twitter and I will put you on the waiting list! There will be at least three spots open for next season.

Let me know if you have any questions! Here are the picks for the 2015 Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama (leader highlighted in blue):

Name Twitter Handle
Alan Stewart _alanstewart Power Dixon Andretti RHR Kimball
Amy Woedl OpenWheelMom RHR Kanaan JPM Newg Bourdais
Andy Nagel Gabbahey75 Power RHR Helio Dixon JPM
Chris Blackburn  chblackburn23 Munoz Bourdais Dixon Pagenaud Coletti
Chris Mienaltowski CPMski Dixon Power Newg RHR Bourdais
Conor Daly conordaly22 Power Munoz Bourdais Rahal Coletti
David Leiting Jr. Dlite_47 Rahal Helio Coletti JPM Bourdais
David Redner IndyCART Kanaan Bourdais Newg Munoz Hawk
DJ Jordan djordan3223 Andretti Munoz Jakes Kanaan Sato
Eric Hall Erock_in_Indy Helio Dixon Bourdais Kimball Andretti
Gina Navarra  gmnavarra Rahal Newg Andretti JPM Pagenaud
Jake Neely indycarfan25 Helio JPM Dixon Karam Coletti
James Alban TheKing0fSwing Newg Rahal Andretti Filippi Sato
James Sedlmayr dfd827 Dixon Rahal Power Hawk Bourdais
Jason McVeigh jasekm RHR Andretti Power Pagenaud Dixon
Jerry Cruz Indycar_Raider Andretti Rahal JPM Pagenaud Newg
Jessica Baker bakerjm13 Rahal JPM Jakes Sato Power
Johanna Husband writebend Dixon Power RHR Filippi Andretti
Justin Mann mannbeast Andretti Hinch Power RHR Dixon
Kieran Brughelli  kieranbrughelli RHR Bourdais Kimball Kanaan Pagenaud
Kyle Lewis kylelewis1 Newg Dixon Power Helio RHR
Lynn Weinberg lynnweinberg Power JPM Helio Dixon Pagenaud
Mathew Gruenholz IndycarSTIG RHR Andretti Newg Kimball Kanaan
Matthew Hickey Indycar_MN Power Dixon RHR Andretti Pagenaud
Mike Crawford 7BigMike Kimball Pagenaud Power Sato Kanaan
Mitch Robinson mitchrobinson_ Andretti Helio Hinch Filippi Bourdais
Paige Hill paigehilll Karam Kimball Munoz Filippi Hinch
Rick Snodie  rickfromwi Hinch Rahal Newg JPM Bourdais
Sam Klein sklein31 Power Dixon JPM Helio RHR
Sandy Lamparello npssandy RHR Hinch JPM Kanaan Andretti
Sarah Hall flywheel011 Andretti Dixon Chaves Rahal Munoz
Sophie Hanson Sophie_Hansons3 RHR Hawk Dixon Kanaan Rahal
Steven Jenkins ukindyfan Dixon Bourdais Andretti RHR JPM

Penalties: David Leiting Jr.

Top 3 most picked: 1) Dixon - 17 2) RHR and Andretti - 15 3) Power - 14
Not picked: Dale Coyne Racing

Let me know if you have any questions regarding May rules!

-Matthew Hickey