Winners and Losers: Fontana

Here are your winners, losers, and Cone of Shame "winner" following the MAVTV 500 Indycar Championships at Auto Club Speedway:


Scott Dixon
Scotty D takes his third Indycar Title of his career, with the five year rule coming into play. Scott has now won the title in 2003, 2008, and 2013. Anyone want to make a bet he wins the title in 2018?

Chip Ganassi Racing
Chip Ganassi claims yet another title, proving that they are the best team in Indycar once again. Now they ditch the Hondas and add Tony Kanaan to their lineup. Shit is gonna get real.

Will Power
Will claimed his win was "the most satisfying win" of his career, proving to himself and to others that he does know how to race on ovals. He's always qualified well, but has always failed to bring it home to victory circle. This was a good win for Will.

Ed Carpenter
Another great run for Ed at Fontana, finishing P2 after hanging out towards the front all race. Still the best oval driver in the field in my opinion.


Helio Castroneves
Helio Castroneves once again fails to win the Indycar title. Add it to the list. Still no championships for him, and time is running out.

Alex Tagliani
Tags threw away a golden opportunity at Chip Ganassi Racing, running up front all race before crashing in a bizarre manner towards the end of the race. Not sure what this means for his immediate future.

Carlos Munoz
The only reason he is a loser here is because he did not bring the car home in one piece, but damn did he once again look impressive. Can't wait to see him in Indycar in the future.

Takuma Sato
No driver had a worse two-thirds of the season than Takuma Sato, which became apparent at the season finale once again, where he finished P17. And to think he had the lead in points at once point this season.

Cone of Shame

Team Penske
Team Penske has not won a title since they did it with Sam Hornish Jr. back in 2006. They once again failed to bring it home in the season finale. Need I say more?

Let me know what you think!

-Matthew Hickey