Greatest Drivers of All Time #2: AJ Foyt

In a new series I am doing on the blog, I take a look at the greatest fifteen drivers in the history of motorsports, with some statistics and reasons as to why I selected them. Here are the previous drivers on the list:

#15 Jim Clark
#14 Dario Franchitti
#13 Sir Jackie Stewart
#12 Jimmie Johnson
#11 Michael Schumacher
#10 Al Unser Jr.
#9 Dale Earnhardt
#8 Juan Manuel Fangio
#7 Al Unser
#6 Alain Prost
#5 Rick Mears
#4 Richard Petty
#3 Mario Andretti

AJ Foyt

Born: January 16, 1935 USA
Race starts: 510
Wins: 74
Poles: 61
Indianapolis 500 Wins: 4
Daytona 500 Wins: 1
24 Hour of Le Mans Wins: 1
USAC Titles: 7

The pioneer for American open wheel racing, no one is better on an oval than Super Tex. He has 67 career USAC wins, 4 Indianapolis 500 victories, and he now currently owns his own Indycar team. He stands alone as the only driver to win an Indianapolis 500, Daytona 500, 24 Hours at Daytona, and 24 Hours at Le Mans. Often outspoken and loved by many, AJ never holds his tongue when it comes to an opinion. The #14 will forever be iconic, and the Foyt name is etched in stone as one of the most infamous names in racing history.

Stay tuned for #1. Let me know what you think.

-Matthew Hickey