They Have the Credentials

Today, we examine what current Indycar drivers have done in the past, as in what championsips, and other major successes they have accomplished. This is meant to show you that the drivers in Indycar are in no way a fluke and the field itself is stacked all around (alphabetical by first name): 

Alex Tagliani
2011 Indianapolis 500 Pole Sitter
1993-1995 Multiple Karting Titles in Quebec and Canada

Charlie Kimball
4th place in 2010 FIL Championship
1st licensed professional driver with diabetes 

Dario Franchitti
2001 Greg Moore Legacy Award
2007, 2009, 2010, 2011 Indycar Champion
2007, 2010 Indianapolis 500 Champion

Ed Carpenter
Back to back 3rd place finished in 2000, 2001 FIL Championships

EJ Viso
2003 National Class British F3 Champion

Graham Rahal
2011 24 Hours of Daytona Winner
Youngest winner in Indycar history

Helio Castroneves
2001, 2002, 2009 Indianapolis 500 Winner
2001 Indianapolis 500 Rookie of the Year

James Hinchcliffe
2004 Top rookie in Formula BMW USA
2010 Greg Moore Legacy Award
2011 Tony Renna Rising Star Award

James Jakes
2003 T-cars runner up in championship
2004 McLaren Autosport BRDC Award Nominee 

Josef Newgarden
2006 Junior Yamaha Champion
2006 Junior TAG World Champion
2011 FIL Champion

JR Hilldebrand
2003 Jim Russell Arrive and Drive Championship Champion
2004 Formula Russell Champion
2006 USF 2000 Champion (won 13 of the 17 races that season)
2009 FIL Champion

Justin Wilson
2001 Formula Audi Champion
2006, 2007 Greg Moore Legacy Award Winner

Katherine Legge
2001 BRDC Rising Star Award
2005 RACER Mag Most Promising Road Race of the Year

Marco Andretti
2004 Barber National Champion
2006 Indianapolis 500 Rookie of the Year
2006 Indycar Rookie of the Year

Mike Conway
2004 Formula Renault Champion
2006 British F3 Champion
2006 National Driver of the Year (Autosport)

Oriol Servia
1999 FIL Champion
2005 Champ Car Championship runner up 

Paul Tracy
1985 Canadian Formula Ford Champion
1990 American Racing Series Champion
2003 Champ Car Champion

Rubens Barrichello
1990 Formula Opel Lotus Euroseries Champion
1991 British Formula 3 Champion
1993 Formula 1 Indoor Trophy Champion
1993-2011 Most Formula 1 Starts in History With 326

Ryan Briscoe
2001 Italian Formula Renault Champion
2003 Formula 3 Euroseries Champion

Ryan Hunter-Reay
1999 Skip Barber Big Scholarship
1999 Skip Barber Formula Dodge Series Champion
2002 WorldCom Rising Star Award
2007 Indycar Rookie of the Year
2008 Indianapolis 500 Rookie of the Year

Scott Dixon
1994 NZ Formula Vee Class II Champion
1995 NZ Formula Ford Class II Champion
1996 NZ Formula Ford Class I
1998 Australian Drivers Champion
2000 FIL Champion
2001 CART Rookie of the Year
2003, 2008 Indycar Champion
2008 Indianapolis 500 Champion

Sebastien Bourdais
1991 Marine Bretagne League Champion 
1993 Cadet France Champion
1998 French F3 Champion
2002 Formula 3000 Champion
2004, 2005, 2006, 2007 Champ Car Champion

Simon Pagenaud
2006 Champ Car Atlantic Champion
2010 ALMS LMP1 Champion

Simona de Silvestro
2010 Tony Renna Rising Star Award

Takuma Sato
2000 British Formula 3 Champion
2001 Macau Grand Prix Champion
2001 Master of Formula 3 Champion

Tony Kanaan
1994 Firmula Europa Boxer Champion
1997 FIL Champion
2004 Indycar Champion

Will Power
2000 Queensland Formula Ford Champion
2002 Australian Drivers Champion
2006 Champ Car Rookie of the Year
2010, 2011 Indycar Runner Up

There are a lot of damn good accolades in that list. People should in no way question the legitimacy of the Indycar Series, and if they do, they need to see the above list of accomplishments. they all have the credentials.

-Matthew Hickey